WVU Wide Receiver David Sills is Named One of Three Finalists for Prestigious Biletnikoff Award

By Connect-Bridgeport Staff on November 20, 2017 via Connect-Bridgeport.com

West Virginia University junior wide receiver David Sills V was named one of three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award as announced, Monday, by The Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., the Florida-based creator and sponsor of the Biletnikoff Award.
Oklahoma State senior receiver James Washington (61 catches, 1,317 yards, 11 touchdowns) and Colorado State senior receiver Michael Gallup (87 receptions, 1,298 yards, 7 touchdowns) were also named finalists for the award.
This marks the third Biletnikoff finalist West Virginia has had since 2012 (Stedman Bailey, 2012; Kevin White, 2014).
Sills V leads the nation in touchdown receptions (18) and has 57 catches for 903 yards, averaging 15.8 yards per catch. He has registered four 100-yard receiving performances, including a career-best 153 yards and three touchdowns against East Carolina and has had multiple touchdowns in seven games in 2017, including three against ECU, Texas Tech and Baylor.
The secure and confidential electronic voting by the distinguished members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee was conducted from Nov. 14th through Nov. 19th and certified by a prominent CPA firm.  
The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the outstanding receiver in college football. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely the outstanding wide receiver. 
The semifinalists, finalists and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted.
The 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 7, 2017, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7-9 pm (ET) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer, Heisman Trophy winner, and Biletnikoff Award voter Desmond Howard will present the 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show. Howard is one of only five ends or receivers who has won the Heisman Trophy, joining Larry Kelley, Leon Hart, Johnny Rodgers, and Biletnikoff Award voter Tim Brown.
The correlation between Biletnikoff Award winners and stardom in the National Football League is predictable. Past Biletnikoff Award winners include Calvin Johnson, Randy Moss, Michael Crabtree, Amari Cooper, and Larry Fitzgerald.
Editor's Note: Photo by Joe McNemar of D-Max Photography.


Connect Bridgeport
© 2018 Connect-Bridgeport.com