Bridgeport High School Volleyball Team's Hefner First Team All-State; Merica Second Team Captain

By Connect-Bridgeport Staff on November 28, 2019 via

Two members of the Bridgeport High School volleyball team were chosen to the Class AA All-State Volleyball team as selected by members of the West Virgnia Sports Writers Association.
Indians Junior Shea Hefner was selected to the first team after having a solid year. Also having a solid year was senior Payton Merica. Mercia was named captain of the second team.
Violet Sickles earned special honorable mention status. Julia Griffith earned honorable
After winning the 2018 state championship, which was the first in school history. The Indians made it back to the state tournament.
After defeating Point Pleasant in the first round, the Tribe lost in the semifinals to eventual state champion Oak Glen.
Editor's Note: Picture of Shea Hefner, left, and Payton Merica by
2019 W.Va. Class AA All-State Volleyball
Skye Stokes, Oak Glen, SR (CAPTAIN)
Alyssa Hill, Philip Barbour, SO
Shea Hefner, Bridgeport, JR
Hannah Rogers, Oak Glen, SR
Bradlea Hayhurst, Shady Spring, SR
Esten Clay, Winfield, SR
Meg Williams, Shady Spring, FR
Macie Miller, Frankfort, SR
Tristan Wilson, Point Pleasant, JR
Emily Denison, Philip Barbour, FR
Payton Merica, Bridgeport, SR (CAPTAIN)
Emily Reed, Winfield, SR
Kelsie Dangerfield, Shady Spring, SO
Destiny Blankenship, Independence, JR
Rachel LeRose, Nicholas County, SR
McKayla Goodwin, Oak Glen, SR
Taylor Lough, Robert C. Byrd, SR
Summer Stover, East Fairmont, JR
Sophia Mikula, Weir, SR
Faith McAfee, Herbert Hoover, JR
Special Honorable Mention
Chloe Puffinburger, Frankfort; Emma Kennedy, Philip Barbour; Abby Fazzini, Robert C. Byrd; Hayley Hovious, Winfield; Maggie Gadomski, Nicholas County; Sierra Strickland, Roane County; Violet Sickles, Bridgeport; Brooklyn Cheek, Man; Kaleigh Davis, Chapmanville; Kerigan Moore, Nitro; Jaedyn Hissam, Oak Glen; Laken McKinney, PikeView; Jocelyn Abraham, Braxton County; Presley McGee, Herbert Hoover; Olivia Dotson, Point Pleasant; Chloe Thompson, Shady Spring; Alisea McMillion, Clay County
Honorable Mention
Ally Morris, Berkeley Springs; Julia Griffith, Bridgeport; Chloe Johnson, Fairmont Senior; Emilea Holcomb, Clay County; Morgan Marty, Liberty (Raleigh); Shayla Whiteman, Petersburg; Makenna Douthitt, Frankfort; Kyra Davis, Independence; MaKaily Thomson-Moran, Keyser; Riley Dominguez, Philip Barbour; Samantha Price, Elkins; Allison Rockwell, Lincoln; Zoe Evans, Mingo Central; Jordan Heckert, Robert C. Byrd; Bailey Malnick, North Marion; Taylor Brown, Westside; MaKayla Keenan, Berkeley Springs;  Katie Underwood, Scott

Connect Bridgeport
© 2020