Indians Get Nine First Team Selections as Coaches Pick the All-Big 10 Conference Football Honor Squad

By Jeff Toquinto on December 06, 2017 via

With success comes recognition. And after Bridgeport High School’s recent 11-2 season that ended in the Class AA semifinals against eventual state champion, the recognition has begun.
The coaches recently selected members of the all-Big 10 Conference team as well as the individual award winners for players of the year. Although the Indians didn’t land any player of the year honors, the Tribe did have nine players make the first team.
Leading the way are senior offensive linemen Jimmy Allison and Noah Drummond. Allison, a tackle, and Drummond, a guard were a big reason the team ran for 3,855 yards this year or just under 300 yards per game with an average of 296.5 yards per contest. The club also averaged 6.4 yards a carry thanks to a combination of strong blocking and talented runners.
When it comes to talented runners, few were as impressive as Jake Bowen this year. Bowen finished the season just shy of 2,000 yards. The junior tailback amassed 1,916 yards on 222 carries for an impressive average of 8.6 yards per run and 26 touchdowns.
On defense, the Indians managed six selections. Incredibly, the Indians allowed just 59 points in the first half of 13 games this year. Although the team allowed a total of 195 points (15 points per game), 136 of those points came in the second half – 80 in the fourth period – when the Indians in nearly every contest were utilizing their reserves.
Things got started up front with senior defensive linemen John Thomas and Christian Olivio. The two players got big numbers as Olivio finished with 42 tackles on the year, while Thomas added 35 tackles for the Tribe.
Chapin Murphy was listed as a linebacker, although he did most of his damage rushing off the edge. The senior finished with 31 tackles and a team leading 5.5 sacks and tackles for loss. He got those numbers despite sitting out four games with a broken hand.
Seniors John Merica and Josh Osborn both were chosen to the first team defense in the secondary. Merica was the club’s leading tackler with 59 stops this year. He also had two interceptions and a team-high seven pass breakups. Osborn was the Indians’ second leading tackler with 57 this year and managed six pass breakups as one of the surprise players for the Tribe who stepped up big this year.
Bridgeport senior Koby Kiefer was named the first team kicker, which was placed under the defense. Kiefer was the club’s third leading scorer with 59 points. He was 53-of-57 on extra points and 2-for-8 on field goal attempts this season.
The Indians had three selections to the second team. Brice Haines, who missed more than half of the season due to injury, earned enough respect in the games he did play to land a second team spot at linebacker. The Tribe also had two more selections in the secondary as Brent Sinsel and Caleb Strakel both earned positions on the unit.
As for players of the year, Fairmont Senior – the Big 10 champion – walked away with the most hardware with surprising Philip Barbour also faring well. The Class AA runner-up saw senior Bryson Gilbert named offensive player of the year and senior Dante Stills named lineman of the year. Defensive player of the year went to Philip Barbour’s Hunter Mason and Coach of the Year going to the Colts’ Russ Collett.
The units are chosen based on the voting by the coaches of the league's teams in Class AAA and Class AA. Members of the media do not vote on the all-Big 10 Conference team.
The rest of the FIRST TEAM is as follows:
Offensive line: Zach Frazier, Fairmont Senior; Robert Arnold, Robert C. Byrd; Garrett Smyton, Elkins; Austin Conaway, North Marion; Jeremiah Reed, Liberty; Bubba Ellis, Lincoln.
Running back: Ghovan Davidson, Robert C. Byrd; Broderick Lantz, Liberty.
Wide Receiver: Antonio Parsons, Fairmont Senior; Tre Junkins, Robert C. Byrd; Kenneth Stahl, North Marion; Jonathan Leep, Lincoln.
Quarterback: Kobie Carpenter, Lincoln.
Utility: Connor Neal, Fairmont Senior.
Defensive line: Jack Mullohand, Robert C. Byrd; Hunter Edgell, North Marion; Zach Shreve, Elkins; Jaden Marino, Robert C. Byrd; Jordan Gump, Lincoln.
Linebacker: Daniel Romans, Elkins; Caleb Walker, Fairmont Senior; Dalton Westfall, Liberty.
Defensive back: Brevon Westfall, North Marion; Seth McKinney, Liberty, Hunter Gainer, Philip Barbour.
Defensive utility: Malcomb Johnson, Robert C. Byrd.
Punter: George Triplett, Elkins.
Kicker: Koby Kiefer, Bridgeport. 
Offensive line: Brock Robey, Robert C. Byrd; Jonathan Warner, Buckhannon-Upshur; Grant Elliott, North Marion; Ryan Metzgar, Lewis County; Alec Gemondo, Lincoln; Andrew See, Liberty; Mason Riley, Liberty; William Lemley, Lincoln.
Running back: Thomas Talkington, Elkins; Jacob White, Lewis County; Jaden Kuroski, East Fairmont.
Wide receiver: Hunter Moore, Lincoln; Dylan Kincell, East Fairmont; Hyden Anderson, North Marion; Des Fluharty, North Marion.
Quarterback: Dalton Malcomb, North Marion.
Offensive utility: Caleb Bish, Grafton.
Defensive line: Garrett Ware, Grafton; Jaden Rollyson, Liberty; Matthew McCoy, Philip Barbour; Caleb Woodford, East Fairmont; Trey Toland, North Marion; Magnus Sheets, Fairmont Senior; Dominic Owens, Fairmont Senior.
Linebacker: Blake Miller, Preston; Trevor Cayton, Grafton; Colton Hovermayle, Lincoln.
Defensive back: Gabe Jordan, Elkins; Cam Brown, Lincoln; Dylan Petit, Grafton.
Defensive utility: Chase Collier, Philip Barbour.
Punter: Aiden Slusser, East Fairmont.
Kicker: Chance Howell, Liberty.
Editor’s Note:  Photos by

Connect Bridgeport
© 2018